The Davis Cup Award of Excellence, inaugurated by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the International Tennis Federation in 2001, is presented to a past or present Davis Cup player from the country or region where the final is being held, who represents the ideals and spirit of the competition.

Year Recipient Country
2001 Neale Fraser   Australia
2002 Pierre Darmon   France
2003 John Newcombe   Australia
2004 Manolo Santana   Spain
2005 Goran Ivanisevic &   Croatia
  Miloslav Mecir   Slovak Republic
2006 Alex Metreveli   Russia
2007 Stan Smith   United States
2008 Guillermo Vilas   Argentina
2009 Manuel Orantes   Spain
2010 Slobodan Zivojinovic   Serbia
2011 Emilio Sanchez   Spain
2012 Ivan Lendl   Czech Republic
2013 Nenad Zimonjic   Serbia
2014 Henri Leconte &  France
  Guy Forget  France
2015 No award presented  
2016 Ivan Ljubicic Czech Republic