The award is presented annually on a worldwide basis to a person who has made important contributions internationally to tennis in the fields of administration, promotion or education and has devoted long and outstanding service to the sport.

Presented to a person who is living at the time of his or her nomination, it does not preclude the recipient from later induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. However, receipients can not be a current Hall of Famer. The award is jointly offered by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the International Tennis Federation, presented each year at an appropriate location.

Year Recipient Country
1999 Brian Tobin   Australia
2000 Gil de Kermadec   France
2001 Pablo Llorens   Spain
2002 Enrique Morea   Argentina
2003 J. Howard “Bumpy” Frazer   United States
2004 John Curry   United Kingdom
2005 Eiichi Kawatei   Japan
2006 James R. Cochrane   United Kingdom
2007 Nancy P. Jeffett   United States
2008 Juan Maria Tintore   Spain
2009 Fern Lee “Peachy” Kellmeyer   United States
2010 Heinz Grimm   Switzerland
2011 Tim Phillips   England
2012 Shamil Tarpischev   Russia
2013 Geoff Pollard   Australia
2014 David Jude   England
2015 Mark Stenning  United States
2016 Vittorio Selmi Italy
2017 Masaaki Morita Japan