Hall of Famers

The Highest Honor in Tennis

Induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame is the highest honor in the sport of tennis. Induction acknowledges an individual's excellence in on court achievements and contributions to the growth of the sport.

The Hall of Famers

They've won Olympic gold medals and achieved world Number 1 status. They are the founders and leaders of the sport's foremost organizations. They've set records on the court and fostered social change off of it. And, they've inspired a love for our great sport around the world. 

Get to Know the Hall of Famers

Symbols of Achievement

Each Hall of Famer is honored with a tribute exhibit in The Museum at the International Tennis Hall of Fame to commemorate their acheivement. These special exhibits are displayed for one year and they showcase the individual's life and career through artifacts, photography, and video.

Additionally, Hall of Famers are presented with these three distinct items in recognition of their induction. 

A blue blazer is presented to each Hall of Famer at their Induction Ceremony.

An Induction Certificate symbolizing their achievement is also presented.

A personalized Hall of Fame Ring is presented at a later date in a special ceremony hosted at a tennis event or another forum that has personal significance to the Hall of Famer.

Eligibility and Voting

Induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame is based upon the sum of an individual's accomplishments in the sport. Inductees are considered for eligibility in one of three categories, Recent Player, Master Player, or Contributor.

  • Players are elected based on their records of competitive achievement, with consideration given to sportsmanship and character.
  • Contributors are elected for having furthered the growth, reputation and character of the sport, in categories such as administration, media, coaching and officiating.

Voting is conducted annually by several committees of individuals who are highly knowledgeable about the sport and its history, including journalists, historians, administrators, and the Hall of Famers.  Learn more about the process.