Class of 2010 Introduced Live at BNP Paribas Showdown!

Class of 2010 Introduced Live at BNP Paribas Showdown!

John McEnroe, Donald Dell, Owen Davidson, Bud Collins, Brad Parks, Virginia Wade, Gigi Fernandez, Ivan Lendl and Tony Trabert.


The International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2010 was introducted live on Monday, March 1 as part of Tennis Night in America in a festive ceremony held at the BNP Paribas Showdown for the Billie Jean King Cup at Madison Square Garden.

In the Class of 2010, doubles stars dominate the Recent Player and Master Player categories, with the selections of Todd Woodbridge, Mark Woodforde, Gigi Fernandez, Natasha Zvereva and Owen Davidson. In the Contributor category, wheelchair tennis creator Brad Parks has been selected for induction, along with Derek Hardwick, who served as chairman of the British Lawn Tennis Association and was instrumental in the creation of Open tennis.  Click here to view a brief video featuring highlights of the tennis careers of the Class of 2010.

Inductees Gigi Fernandez, Brad Parks and Owen Davidson were present for the ceremony, which drew cheers of admiration from the nearly 12,000 fans who turned out for the Tennis Night in America festivities. International Tennis Hall of Fame Chairman Christopher Clouser hosted the ceremony, which featured Hall of Famers John McEnroe, Bud Collins, Virginia Wade, Donald Dell, Ivan Lendl and Tony Trabert on hand to welcome the latest inductees who have been selected to recieve the highest honor available in the sport.

The ceremony was held on the Madison Square Garden arena court, prior to the finals of an exciting night of tennis action. Following the ceremony, an exciting night of tennis resumed when Venus Williams and Kim Clijsters battled it out for the Billie Jean King Cup, with Williams defeating Clijsters 6-4, 3-6, 7-5. Click here to view the BNP Paribas Showdown event program.  


About the International Tennis Hall of Fame
Established in 1954, the International Tennis Hall of Fame is a non-profit institution dedicated to preserving the history of tennis, inspiring and encouraging junior tennis development, enshrining tennis heroes and heroines, and providing a landmark for tennis enthusiasts worldwide. The International Tennis Hall of Fame was recognized as the sport’s official Hall of Fame in 1986 by the International Tennis Federation, the governing body of tennis. For information on the International Tennis Hall of Fame and its programs, call 401-849-3990 or visit us online at

Media Contact
Anne Marie McLaughlin
Office: 401-324-6033
Cell: 401-626-7615