Captain Corrado Barazzutti honored with Fed Cup Award of Excellence

Captain Corrado Barazzutti honored with Fed Cup Award of Excellence

November 2, 2013 - At today's Fed Cup by BNP Paribas World Group Final, the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the International Tennis Federation (ITF) honored longtime Italian Fed Cup Captain Corrado Barazzutti with the 2013 Fed Cup Award of Excellence. The award was presented by ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti and Jane Brown Grimes, president emerita of the International Tennis Hall of Fame. Italian tennis great Lea Pericoli, a dedicated Italian Fed Cup team member in the 1960s and 1970s and a past recipient of the Award of Excellence, participated in the presentation as well. The presentation took place just prior to the start of the final between Italy and Russia at the Tennis Club Cagliari in Sardinia, Italy. 

"The Fed Cup Award of Excellence is an honor for an individual who embraces and shares the ideals and spirit of Fed Cup competition, and in his many years of service as Italian Fed Cup Captain, Corrado Barazzutti has always done that. He has instilled teamwork, sportsmanship, and commitment in the team and, under his leadership, the Italian team has achieved great success in Fed Cup competition. In appreciation for his dedication and contributions to the sport of tennis and especially to Fed Cup, we are proud to present Captain Barazzutti with the Fed Cup Award of Excellence," said ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti.

Each year since 2001, the ITF and the Hall of Fame have presented the Fed Cup Award of Excellence to a person who represents the ideals and spirit of the Fed Cup competition.

As the Italian Fed Cup Captain since 2002, Barazzutti has led the team through 29 ties, compiling an impressive record of 21-8. Under his leadership, Barrazzutti brought the Italians to the finals for the first time in history in 2006, when they won their first Fed Cup championship title. He has guided the Italian team to championship title three times, (2010, 2009, 2006), and they were finalists in 2007. This season, the team defeated the USA in the First Round and the defending champions, the Czech Republic, in the semifinals to earn a spot in the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas World Group Final.

Barazzutti currently serves as Italian Davis Cup captain as well, and during his playing days, he was a stalwart of the Italian Davis Cup team. He competed in 32 ties between 1972 and 1984, and compiled an overall record of 41-21. He was an integral member of the championship team in 1976, when Italy defeated Chile, and was a member of three Italian teams that advanced to the final - 1980, 1979, and 1977. On the ATP World Tour, Barazzutti achieved a career high ranking of world No. 7 and won 5 titles. He was a semifinalist in both the US Open (1977) and the French Open (1978).

Past recipients of the Fed Cup Award of Excellence have been Jana Novotna of the Czech Republic in 2012; Anastasia Myskina of Russia in 2011; Billie Jean King of the United States in 2010; Mary Joe Fernandez of the United States and Silvia Farina of Italy in 2009; Miguel Margets of Spain in 2008; Lea Pericoli of Italy in 2007; Sabine Appelmans of Belgium in 2006; Françoise "Frankie" Dürr of France in 2005; Olga Morozova of Russia in 2004; Larisa Savchenko of Latvia in 2003; Virginia Wade of Great Britain in 2002; and Spain's Arantxa Sanchez Vicario and Conchita Martinez in 2001. 


About Fed Cup by BNP Paribas
Fed Cup by BNP Paribas is the largest annual international team competition in women's sport, with 97 nations entered in 2013. The event is celebrating its 50th birthday in 2013 in the ITF's centenary year. The title sponsor is BNP Paribas, the Official Bank of Fed Cup. Adecco (Official HR Sponsor) and Bosco Sport (Official Clothing Sponsor) are international sponsors, and Wilson Sporting Goods (Official Ball) is an international partner. Follow all the action on, and

About the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum
Established in 1954, the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum is a non-profit institution dedicated to preserving the history of tennis, inspiring and encouraging junior tennis development, providing a landmark for tennis enthusiasts worldwide, and enshrining tennis heroes and heroines with the highest honor in the sport of tennis- enshrinement into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. In 1986, the International Tennis Federation, the governing body of tennis, officially recognized the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum as the sport's official Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is located in Newport, Rhode Island, USA on a 7-acre property that features an extensive museum chronicling the history of the sport and honoring the 235 Hall of Famers; 13 grass tennis courts and an indoor tennis facility that are open to the public and to a club membership; a rare Court Tennis facility; and an historic 295-seat theatre. Annually in July, the venue hosts the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships for the Van Alen Cup, an ATP World Tour event. The buildings and grounds, which were constructed in 1880 by McKim, Mead & White to serve as a social club for Newport's summer residents, are renowned for their incredible architecture and preservation. The facility was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1987. In 2013, the museum became the first sports hall of fame to be honored with accreditation status from the American Alliance of Museums, which indicates that the accredited museum is operating at the highest level of museum professional standards and that it demonstrates a commitment to excellence in all that it does. For information on the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum and its programs, call 401-849-3990 or visit us online at or