Tennis Educational Merit Award

Tennis Educational Merit Award

The International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum annually presents the Tennis Educational Merit Awards to citizens or residents of the United States. The Awards is presented to those who have made notable contributions in the tennis education field at the national level and have demonstrated leadership and creative skills in such areas as instruction, writing, organization and promotion of the game of tennis.he award is presented annually in the March for the preceding year. The 2013 award will be presented in March 2014. 

CLICK HERE to download the 2013 Tennis Educational Merit Award Nomination Form

The nomination forms must be returned to Charles Kehres at by December 13, 2013. Nominations are kept on file for 3 years. After that, they must be resubmitted with updated information.  


Date Men Women
1967 Harry A. “Cap” Leighton *
1968 William C. Lufler *
1969 Dennis Van der Meer *
1970 Harry James *
1971 John Conroy *
1972 Harry Fogleman Eve F. Kraft
1973 Bill & Chet Murphy Marion Wood Huey
1974 Victor Braden & Paul Xanthos Margaret O. duPont
1975 Rolla Anderson & Clarence Maybry Helen Lewis
1976 Robert Sassano Pat Freebody
1977 * Dr. Ann Pittman
1978 Jack Barnaby Peggy Mann
1979 Ed Faulkner Sarah Palfrey Danzig
1980 George Basco Lois Blackburn
1981 Bill Tym Dr. Marigold Edwards
1982 Dick Gould Elaine Mason
1983 Tom Stow Alice Tym
1984 Sean Sloane Barbara Wynne
1985 Dr. Charles Wolbers Mildred West
1986 Jim Leighton Christine S. Beck
1987 Jim Reffkin Emilie Burrer Foster
1988 Brad Parks Pam Shriver
1989 * *
1990 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Jeanie Peabody
1991 Skip Hartman Marceil Whitney
1992 Dr. Jack Groppel & Dr. Jim Loehr *
1993 Doug MacCurdy Zina Garrison Jackson
1994 Henry Talbert Katherine Chabot Willette
1995 Peter Burwash Kathy Woods
1996 Ronald B. Woods Donna Floyd Fales
1997 Dr. Irving V. Glick Helen Moser Petersen
1998 James R. O’Neill Becky Desmond
1999 Nick Bollettieri Dr. Ann Lebedeff
2000 David Benjamin & Dr. Howard Brody Lisa Duncan
2001 Dr. Brian Hainline & Frank Brennan Patricia Van der Meer
2002 Tim Heckler & Dr. E. Paul Roetert *
2003 Kirk Anderson & Bob Greene Pam Austin
2004 Dr. Allen Fox    Ann Valentine
2005 Daniel J. Santorum Louise Gengler
2006 Dr. Marc R. Safran & Dr. David T. Porter Barbara Fackel
2007 Dr. Todd S. Ellenbecker Sharon Rosenburgh & Kathleen Stroia
2008 Rodney Harmon *
2009 W. Ben Kibler and Steve Wilkinson *
2010 Dale Caldwell and Dan Magill Jodie Adams and Leslie Allen
2011 Mark Kovacs and Butch Staples Lynn Bender
2012 Ned Eames Kathy Rinaldi

* = Not Presented

2012 Ned Eames and Kathy Rinaldi with other previous Tennis Educational Merit Award recipients.



Follow Us!